Why We Drop Things : – SPOILERS –

Compared to cases where personal preferences is what makes all the difference between watching and dropping a show halfway, this is one quite different. To not continue to watch a show because of being spoiled is one of the rarer cases that though, rare as it may sound, is a possibility for many.

Imagine you heard it accidentally. Imagine one day after a long day you are surfing through the nebula of the Internet like usual then the next thing you know your eyes are accidentally and suddenly subjected to a fierce barrage of spoilers that your mind wasn’t quick enough to not process. 

I have been fortunate enough of hardly being spoiled and I plan on keeping it that way as much as possible. Personally, I haven’t dropped a show because I was spoiled but I can see it happening. Imagine being spoiled the ending of a movie you were planning on seeing but then something spoiled the big surprise, who did what and what was done, or hopefully not, the whole point of the movie. It sucks, doesn’t it?

You know who does this and that. You find out who ends up with who. You know, which characters die by the end of the movie. You know this other character was behind everything. You find out about all details beforehand. Worse yet, even details you had only picked up on your second watch. What are these spoilers and where are they coming from? And why did I not stop reading when that Internet guy self proclaimed anime_fan_implied-infinity_#_#_year without prior notice started rambling about such shows I hadn’t even seen yet.

Spoilers are awful because as the word explains they ‘spoil’ (sometimes all) the big surprises the story was eventually going to provide when the time was right. There may be still many other reasons to keep watching yet not everyone can get pass that once heavy spoilers enter the scene. Sometimes a spoiler can be that bad. They are but a latent possibility for everyone and especially for anyone who dislikes being spoiled.

Normally we could venture guesses about how a story ends but that is about it. It could be bad ending, a good ending, a neutral ending. Anything is possible. Spoilers can change this.  For instance, a long series which one has no idea how it will eventually finish due to its unpredictable nature becomes monotonous. Spoilers can potentially ruin a whole surprise such as the climax by revealing all the big secrets making the answers predictable lacking any punch they could originally have.

Following a show, any story for that matter, is about experiencing as one watches it or reads it. My idea of fun does not involve learning the end of a movie before I even saw the beginning. Neither does it involve knowing who does or not makes it to the final scenes of a movie. Without a doubt, it does not involve any of these them. I like to see the developments in a story in the order they are presented.

Would I officially drop a show because of spoilers? The possibility of losing interest in a show because of spoilers is a realistic one though. The rest remains to be seen and I would very much like it to stay that way. More than just being spoiled of future events, the possibility of dropping a show mostly comes into play when stories with plot twists are concerned. Especially, when the portion that was spoiled was the main focus of a story.

* Part of the Why We Drop Things

3 thoughts on “Why We Drop Things : – SPOILERS –

  1. I see what you are saying but I don’t know. I fully agree that in general spoilers suck. They normally destroy the impact that the writers were pacing the show for. However, if you say that spoilers ruin a show to the point where you can’t watch it anymore and have to drop it, aren’t you also saying that the show isn’t worth watching twice? That the show isn’t worth watching if you already know what is going to happen.

    I have several mystery and a few horror shows in my collection that have critical plot twists or revelations. I have seen them several times and still enjoy them even though I can quote the dialogue. I believe that if a story is well written, well told and you are enjoying it then spoilers aren’t going to deal a fatal blow to the show.

    I have had several instances where I have been spoiled on a show and it had no real impact on my enjoyment, that even knowing what was going to happen did not diminish its power. I have even had situations in which a spoiler made me watch a show that I dismissed out of hand because the spoiler made me realize the show was more interesting than I first thought. I even have an instance in which being spoiled enhanced my enjoyment of a show. This happened because the show was a well crafted web and knowing what was going to happen allowed me to appreciate the signs on my first pass through the show.

    In short if spoilers make you drop a show I have to wonder about the quality of the show and how much you were enjoying it in the first place.

    • I see what you mean. Spoilers are generally negative but can be useful.

      On one hand, one may be ok with a certain level of spoilers to get a better feel for a story. I refer to these as minor spoilers that only uncover small parts of the main story. On the other hand, what makes spoilers generally unappealing is that they are unwanted in the first place as one may accidentally become exposed to them when least expected it, ruining some or all the surprises.

      As mentioned I think spoilers that heavily spoil the reader on the best aspects of the series are what make them spoilers mainly undesirable. It is here that spoiling may become (for some) a driving factor to entirely discontinue following a story, though this still hasn’t happened to me personally despite being relatively spoiled on some aspects of a show a few times.

      I’m intrigued about the part mentioned here where a spoilers(or being spoiled) may be a way of determining the quality of a show and/or the real enjoyment of the viewers when a story has to stand on its own (almost at an disadvantage) despite of spoilers. That idea is interesting.

  2. I tend to think that what actually happens at the end of a story is of less importance than how it happens – something that’s way harder to give spoilers for, since we all view the journey differently and need to witness it with our own eyes for that to really happen. And then I remember how furious I was when someone spoiled me for the ending of the Vampire Princess Miyu series a few years back, and all that goes flying out the window.

Comments are closed.