What the Summer 2012 is Based on Titles (The 2nd Pilot)

Love songs about fish • A god who was poor • A person who was Not-Nobunaga • Fortune tellers,  onomatopoeia, and artworks. All the possibilities.

I’d ask myself how long has it been since the last entry and since I had stopped counting but I was not in the first place.

What the Season is Based on Titles, the <Insert Title Here>, most ironically – still a working title but I was pretty much sure it does hit the nail on the head sure enough so it won’t be changed until I come up with something better. What is What the Season is based on Titles? A project very much alive and kicking which has not been dropped, neither has it been put on hold. Oh good heaves, no. Nooo.

The first item on the list (thought the list was not organized in any particular way) was Joshiraku, which came from the word Josh (which is actually Yosh but we’ll ignore that part). (Josh)iraku is the sound made by person rejoicing. – Iraku is a verb in infinitive form. As for the meaning of the title I guessed it was a pronoun or a verb too difficult to translate, which soon I would find that this wasn’t an isolated case at all. Oh no, not at all.

Following the list of untranslated titles came along one in which a word was repeated twice. Based on that piece of information I found that the title was an example of sound symbolism or some form of onomatopoeia. Without knowing more of the context it was a hard call to make what to remotely make of it, therefore it was left it untranslated. The show was called Tari Tari. After words such as Tari Tari or Joshiraku I stumbled upon titles which were completely translated to the delight of anyone wishing to know the meaning of the titles they watch because not knowing what they mean is an awfully strange experience. This was an easy guess now that the title was more than coherent. Same as everyone (so it goes) knowing that the best way to teach eigo was by mahou shoujos. That’s how things work, this I learned from a title going by the name of Ribbon-chan: Eigo de Tatakau Mahou Shoujo, which was a sound name. Well, the title in question was about eclipses but not only that but it was an alternative setting where an eclipse happened because not so much in the other series

(Whatever happened in the other series?)

Eclipses. Exactly. those that occur only every dozens years and no one can watch them because is always cloudy, or you’re simply in the wrong hemisphere when they happen. And when they do happen people are advised to not stare at them directly. What strange thing. Eclipses are shy creatures that don’t want to be stared at. Whysoever would I watch a show that doesn’t want to be watched? The title of this show was Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse. And it was about Total eclipses (as expected) and not about a land where drills and tanks prevailed like Tanken Driland was. The name Muv-Luv derived from baby talk or some other kind of cryptic speak. Muv was some variation of Mai (My) and Luv came from the word love. I did not see any reason why to call it Luv otherwise unless affection was inferred. For this reason Muv-luv was a romantic title that goes awry because the world knows only bad stuff happens in fictional stories when eclipses happen. Eclipses were yet another reason why there couldn’t be more nice things. Muv-Luv Alternative was not a good thing.

Continuing my search I reached a title who I assumed it referred to Nobunaga who, on the note of the important figures, is one of the most famous historical figures who has gotten more spin-offs than any other. It was because of this that to spice things up his gender changed periodically, this I found to be true. Instead of being surprised after finding another show about Nobunaga, the shock came from seeing the name of the feudal leader written incorrectly for once. What a thing. The reason behind it was unknown, which could have been due to bad grammar or due to a case of dyslexia which in such case we would retract any harsh statements without asking any more questions. The error of the title could be found in Oda Nobuna no Yabou. That was the case or this person who was not-Nobunaga was not Nobunaga.

With untranslated titles and such also came along titles that could make a person shiver. What better title that one which forewarns the moment before a fatality move was to be executed. This was the case for the story about a seriously deranged girl named Chitose who stalked and ultimately took down its prey. The spectacle was much like watching Animal Planet only with no zebras, narration, and no occasional awkward moments watching it with company. There was no better title for it than Chitose Get You!! as it was purely horror for I would call it a horror story by the title alone.

It was hardly surprising that there was a title written in a different language in this list as by personal experience I’ve seen this to be a common case. The most popular being classy as it could get Latin followed by the German language when English wasn’t the first choice in the author’s mind. This was neither of those cases. Arcana Famiglia was the name which was not to be confused with La Sagrada Familia by Antoni Gaudi who preferred his building to posses freedom of form because that’s how he rolled. Based on the title it was determined Arcana Famiglia was a group of traveling fortune-tellers. The kicker being they used the power of the arcana. Another kicker being they were all related. They real kicker being they were unaware of it.

Among of this sea of titles there were also taboo letters (not words but letters) which weren’t exactly given the thumbs up or remotely given half a thumbs up. I found that some letters were discouraged to use which was intriguing because whatever could a single letter do. I did not have much of a problem with any of the 26 letters of the alphabet, however anime titles thought otherwise. H proved to be an exception since the word appeared to posses one mean stigma behind it. This appeared to be case as I found that there were people that weren’t allowed to play H according to Dakara Boku wa, H ga Dekinai. Something was definitely up with it seeing that a strong response was immediately triggered upon capitalizing the letter h.

Yet another intriguing title was one regarding a hero who was rogue (a rogue hero) and the story was about its aesthetica. I had probably read that wrong so I read it again then again. I left Aesthetica of a Rogue Hero untouched.

Back again to the hard-to-translate titles also inevitably came long theimmensely long titles which eventually all ended up becoming a single word defeating the point of making the name so long on its entirety in the first place.
Ebiten: Kouritsu Ebisugawa Koukou Tenmonbu was it, it was also the case of another title so long that I could not translate it by myself. Unfortunately same with others it fell on the list of titles the mind only remembers for a brief period of two years max and one that even elephants would have trouble recalling.

Mind that ‘L’ sounds similar to ‘R’, Love, Election & Chocolate was an euphemism for love, erections and chocolate – probably in that order – this was another title in the list I reviewed after Ebiten. As for Ebiten, there was nothing to do there, only to conclude that the nature of Ebiten was incredibly deep due to its long name. I found this was the reason behind long anime titles.

In contrast to difficult to grasp titles by the names alone, there was also a self-explanatory popular title regarding guys making sword artworks and posting them online. This was what I would call another appropriate name. I could see precisely why calling this unique title Sword Art Online was the logical choice. Almost in a similar category there was this other title regarding magical places where our kokoros connected. This one was called Kokoro Connect, which was either about human relationships or a heartfelt tale of sorts. Similar to this other title I found there was also a story regarding romantic love songs about Japanese fishes. We best not forget that for every show about people there are also stories revolving around animals. Uta Koi was the name of this series. Kokoro Connect turned out to be a story situated at a hospital in the coronary care unit. My guess was then Narcissu, my second guess being one in the vein of Black Jack and not Jack Black because the two are nothing alike. This was a tragedy. I was then sorry for getting them mixed up for this was occasionally the case. Why would the brain do that.

There was a title where all the main events happened before the evening and very much before the night started. By process of deduction the anime only had 6 hours to go on, or 3 hours, give or take, if all characters woke up super early. I did not understand this for I was not much of a morning person. The name of the show was Sakasama no Patema: Beginning of the Day.

And like this I type. I type like this! A slight headache The God Of Poverty is! gave me and thus it was arranged in a more readable way giving us “It is the God of Poverty” (gender identity, at the moment, reserved) The actual title was Binbougami ga, which it was inferred then that it was about the not awfully rich but about poor people. It could also be about something of poor quality as binbou meant ‘cheap’ as well and as hell, but the title disproved this theory. It was about poor people and about the god of poverty who obligatorily ought to be poor as well. What a slap to the face of poverty that would be should that not be the case.

I was pretty much OK with most of the titles as far as the word OK went (which was an OK word). There were some titles that just needed a bit of fixing to be more accurate and coherent. It was the case for a title called Campione! which I readily changed to Champione because.. what exactly was a campione.

And there could not be a title which didn’t specify the place the action occurred otherwise how would the audience know where they’re situated in the world. So I reached Natsuyuki Rendezvous which as mentioned was a meeting place in which Natsuyuki told all other characters and background characters where they could meet him. What a guy. Or gal.
I did not know. The name lent itself to either case. In that sense it was as ambiguous as Who Is Imouto?

The indecisive title – Imouto – too lazy to pick one called itself many things, but I had to choose from one of them. From a title not a imouto, I was not walking into that one. The list was long, one being My Little Sister Is Among Them!, another being One of Them is My Younger Sister!, and most prominent Who is Imouto? Who was Imouto? I had to settle for Who Is Imouto regardless of the concept and situation still escaping me. There was no way, no how. I had no way to relate to it.

I had no imouto. I have no imouto.

The highest point in my Fall 2012 list was no other than Jinrui wa Suitaishimashita. Shimata! I noticed the present perfect tense in the translation as I realized I was about to be done. It was a long name but there were strong chances I was going to remember it. I had to remember it after the 19th time. It was a good name.

It was called “Humanity has Declined” called Jintai for short, Jinrui being also a good choice but I called it Jintai too and let things be. Based on the title it meant that one day a tragedy befell the world and humanity decreased in numbers. Jintai’s title structure was strong. My work there was done. With such title there was no need to research anything and need for guesswork for its blissful super title structure was guaranteed by no more than three words. Such feat was possible.

I was the done. I put the pen down. It was no pen – I was typing.

Oh, what a ride.

