The Fall 2010 Season Preview

So let it be known. So let it be written. It’s time for the Fall 2010 season preview and oh yeah, wordplaying.  The Fall is always a nice season but no intention of hogging  or blogging all shows for the sake of it. As always looking here for potential shows each season and see what else is out there. That said, many exciting adaptions and also too many sequels I won’t be following. What does the already well-received Fall have in store for me and you?

Rating
[x] Not a personal favorite. Doubt I’ll pick it up.
[?] Unsure about it. Might be wait and see.
[!] No questions asked. Possible hit of the season. Must check out.

* The first shows will air on October 1st and the last ones by September.

Star Driver: Kagayaki no Takuto

Studio : Bones
Genres: Action, Mecha, Shounen

“On a cross-shaped island in the South, a mysterious and gigantic humanoid robot known as the “Cybuddy” is discovered sealed in the underground ruins for untold ages. A group known as the “Order of the Glittering Star Cross” attempts to remove the seal by abducting a girl named Wako Agemaki, who they dubbed the “shrine maiden” and is the key to activating the robot. A boy named Takuto Tsunashi arrives with his own Cybuddy named Tauburn to rescue Wako. Thus begins a struggle to unlock the secrets of the advanced technology and prevent disaster.”

[?] Studio BONES and an Action, Mecha, Shounen combination. Nothing new I’d say but nothing to dislike about – yet. Except that Stardriver follows this unspoken agreement that the more ridiculous you look and dressed in anime, the more awesome you are. Green and school uniforms don’t get along that well. Since Heroman I wondered if Bones could animate something more ridiculously looking. I don’t think I had to wait much. Story?

The mecha concept can definitely work. No, it usually works as long as it goes accompanied by a group of fairly likable characters who have a enough of a decent backstory of their own to keep the show interesting when they aren’t battling baddies. I’d be nice if this one turns out alright.

IRONMAN

Studio : MADHOUSE
Genres : Action, Mecha

[x] Basically how the Japanese would handle it. I’m with the group that thinks “there’s no reason for it to be animated.” I’m someone who enjoys watching the original material unless it’s a) lost b) doesn’t have  a translation c) the new version a million times better than the original. But above all I don’t see any reason for to be brought back after so many years. If I didn’t like it as a cartoon (american cartoon if you must be specific) then I don’t think I’d like better as an anime. If you want to appreciate the show then go watch the original. IMO there must be something *new* out there to catch instead. After reading that guess what I think of Hollywood movies based on anime and games?

Madhouse. It’s not like there aren’t anime out there waiting to be animated. Get to it! See a couple of lines below more examples.

Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt

Studio : GAINAX
Genres : action, supernatural

“The story centers around a teen-celebrity-like blond-haired girl named Panty and a black-haired Goth Loli girl named Stocking. The two are angels sent from the heavens to battle the “Ghosts” on Earth.”

[x] Gainax is losing it. Either its staff have grown tired of making big robots shows (is that even possible?) or they’re secretly working on something so huge that will make our brains explode. Why in the bloody hell won’t they go back to making mecha shows that are near impossible to give a bad rating? Frankly, I’m not taking well any of their works lately. Now this? More underaged, more underdeveloped characters for a story none of us really know what direction will take and  that we’d downright normally drop if the Gainax name wasn’t included? Gainax has been pushing it too much lately. I’m inclined to say I won’t be watching it. Probably will rather read what others think about this one. Gainax you might [really] be alone on this one. Can it work? It’s Gainax and it has thousands of fans. If it can work then it’ll probably will.

Psychic Detective Yakumo

Studio : BeeTrain
Genre : Mystery, Horror, Shoujo, Supernatural
Eps : 13

“The story follow Yakumo, a young man who can see the spirits of dead people with his red eyes. He uses this ability as a gift to solve murder cases.”

[?] It’s always about these characters being able to see ghosts or having one eye(s) of a different color than the other. The whole fighting spirits/demons is one massive clique by now. Is it a one or what. Well made shows and obvious exceptions exist but really. I’d like to industry to come up with something more original. As for the actual plot. I think I’d be a bit interested in seeing how this one turns out although how loosely the mystery and horror genres are used lately doesn’t give me much hope. I think there’s problem when I’m sitting on a couch relaxing waiting for the detective to get to the part I got. I’ll make it easy. The culprit is someone who has enough airtime, the actions are questionable and is still likeable. Probably a relative. Most likely a woman. How’s that for reasoning?

Also It is forbidden for supernatural agencies to be employed as a detective technique. This guy doesn’t play by the book. That’s kinda cheating, isn’t it? Yeah, that’s one reason why I don’t like Pysch. The other one is because it’s not really a mystery or that hilarious for that matter. Uh.. shoujo?

Kuragehime

Studio : Base
Genres: Josei

“The story centers around Tsukimi Kurashita, a huge fan of jellyfish and a girl who moves to Tokyo to become an illustrator. She moves into “Amamizukan,” an apartment complex that is full of fujoshi with a no-men-allowed rule. However, one day, Tsukimi invites a stylishly fashionable woman to stay at her room at Amamizukan — only to discover that the guest is not who “she” seems to be.

[?] A josei show? Pardon me, I don’t think I’ve ever finished one. There might be a good reason for that. First thing that comes to mind. The designs weird me out. But that’s a weak excuse to drop a show. Second thing that comes to mind. This “she” is probably a dude or not human. Third thing  that comes to mind Studio Base? I don’t how otaku-ish this show wants to get and no idea what to really expect. I’m simply a fan (with a blog – of all things) that simply enjoys the joys of anime and the manga world so I don’t think I’ll be that interested if it simply revolves around anime fans cliques. End of story. Ok, there’s a bit more to that but it’s basically that. If it’s fun I’ll watch it, if it’s terrible I drop it. Simple. See?

Shinryaku! Ika Musume (squid girl)

Trailer : here
Studio: Diomedea
Genres: Comedy, Supernatural

“The comedy story centers around Seaside, a slightly odd maid tea shop (kissa) in an otherwise ordinary shopping district of a mundane neighborhood in Tokyo. (Despite the addition of maids, Seaside is a traditional kissa, instead of one of the maid cafés made popular elsewhere.) Hotori Arashiyama works at Seaside and daydreams about being a high school girl detective. She, the other workers, and Seaside’s few customers have various slice-of-life adventures.”

[?] Diomedea? I could see something like J.C. Staff working on this one.  Maybe not. Mermaids.. Aside from the fact the sea and I don’t get usually get along well. This sounds a lot like another show I didn’t pick up that was about mermaids and the sea.  No idea how that one turned out either but I’m assuming this doesn’t stray that far off from that one. Comedy-wise this could work but seeing a bunch of kids screwing around can get tiresome real quick. I liked how they add “- slice-of-life adventures” near the end. Might give it a try but I think there is a similar show that shows greater promise this season. You mght not agree completely with me here.

Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls

Trailer: here
Studio: Arms
Genres: Action, Comedy, Ecchi, Romance, School

“The story takes place in Japan in the early 21st century, in an alternate reality where the Tokugawa Shogunate has remained in power. In this reality, student councils are tasked with oppressing schools. Yagyuu Muneakira is a high school student who rebels against his student council with the help of girls who’ve had the names of famous samurai heroes passed on to them.”

[?] OH, better believe I’m expecting it to look exactly like that. Why else would they make such a misleading trailer otherwise? Simply to look cool? Probably. I liked how they manage to keep the “student council” factor intact no matter what reality era we’re on. It’s like ooh Student Council means business as usual.

Arms is well versed in the whole stripping/naked girls in anime trend so they sure know their breast and butter. I mean bread and butter.  Silly similar nouns. Most unfortunately, I’m (still) not one of the cool kids who liked Queen’s blade or are eager to defend it for all its worth. I don’t think I got any intentions either atm. But I just had to chuckle at seeing them making  specials eps announcements already even before the show even started. Someone is feeling confident about its target audience. Might just check it out if I have the time to see what it’s about. Oh yeah, better believe some of this stuff is gonna get censored the eff out. Be prepared.

The World God Only Knows

Trailer : here
Studio : Manglobe
Genres: comedy, romance, supernatural

“Katsuragi Keima is known on the net at the Capturing God, while in real life he is an otamegane who hates all real girls. However he is approached by Elsee, a devil from hell, to help her in catching runaway spirits that hide in people. Apparently the spirits only hide in the hearts of girls and the only way to get the souls out is by making the girl fall in love so the spirit gets forced out. Keima must capture all the spirits in the world so that his contract with hell ends.”

[!] -Of? If I’d look (and dressed) like that I’d probably hate real girls too. Well, this is something relatively new, except the guy looking like a trap and the whole gotta get them spirits/demons. The world only God knows is another extremely well-known manga which I never got my hands around it because I was too busy with other thing but I was always curious. Things I know about it – it’s weird, mindscrewing, and it has firetrucks? Right now I’m not getting the joke but probably I will in a few months unless someone feels like spoiling it for me.

I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone say anything bad about TWOGK. I’m going to follow the reasoning that it’s popular for a reason. Expecting to be a good one at that. Will watch? Yes. I’ll definitely pick it up. There’s a high change I’ll stick to it and see  what this “world” they speak of is about.

Yosuga no Sora

Trailer : here
Studio: feel
Genre: romance

“Having lost both parents, the Kazugano twins; Haruka and Sora decided to move in and live with their grandfather to whom to they are fond of. However beneath the surface is a promise, and the lost of a lost treasure which underpins their reason to return to such place.”

[x] Something totally innovative to the industry – forbidden love and kids in anime becoming orphans. No, that can’t be because it’s the same thing in a great majority of the shows over and over. I’ll take a wild of the wildest guess and say this is an adaptation of some shoujo/ero game probably under the radar only those hardcore fans know of. Too easy? I’m not interest in the least. Watched the looong trailer and I’m even less interested. I’m not impressed with feel Studio either but I’m more assumed in why they won’t even capitalize its name. I’m simply not feeling it, feel.

Sora no Otoshimono : Forte

Studio : AIC A.S.T.A.
Genres: comedy, fantasy, romance

“Tomoki Sakurai often encounters a strange girl in his dreams asking for his help, but he can’t remember her face when he wakes up. When an Unidentified Mysterious Animal (U.M.A.) falls out of the sky, his life of pacifism suddenly becomes complicated. The animal turns out to be an angel, Ikaros.”

[?] For those who finished the 1st season of the show where they couldn’t air an special ep because it was simply too dangerous for our pure eyes, Sora no Otoshimono is here. Heh I don’t think it could beat Excel Saga’s wtforgy banned ep but who really knows. Also who really cares? I, however, did finish Sora no Otoshimono a few months back so it’s possible for me to watch this sequel.

Anyway the things that they do on this show some may never know and some rather not know. Lost Property of the sky is a show that you might hate in the first eps. After you’re over the halfway you forget what it didn’t rub you off the right way and simply enjoyed whatever they threw at you. I doubt I’ll necessary catch it weekly but instead I’ll marathon it. After all that’s how I finished the 1st season having low expectations and looking for something fun. This is really one of those shows when it’s a smart move to take it easy and not except something mind bogging each week. It’s almost like playing the lottery, you know, without losing any actual money. Then again if you finish the 1st one  then why not watch the 2nd one?

MM!

Trailer : here
Studio : XEBEC
Genres : Comedy, Ecchi, School

“The story centers the life of Taro Sado going through high school. He came to realize his masochist personality and attempts to conceal this from his crush. To fix it, he enrolled in his school’s “2nd Volunteer Club”.

[x] And now we’re resorting to more abbreviations. Right about now I’m even doubting that popular chocolate company with a similar name is really that innocent. Either Kanokon crew is behind this one or someone just copied their bizarre water colors animation techniques. Yeah, it’s the same staff.  Joy. Also it’s official that when Jun isn’t being god among humans on the chessmaster role and he gets thrown into the most pushover roles ever known to anime. Saki, Working!!, whatever shows he wasn’t an anti hero in practically confirmed my claim. Well, MM! is a show too hardcore for its own good. What a weird trailer and what a weird show. A few scenes might be passable but the whole show about seeing a guy gets whipped, slapped, punched, and kicked? Nope. The designs aren’t nearly that decent but that’s kinda of a given. Don’t think I’ll bother. MM! is simply hurting itself, then again that makes perfect sense too.

Moto To Love-Ru -Trouble

Studio: XEBEC
Genres: Comedy, Ecchi, Romance

“The story is about Rito Yuuki, a high-school boy who cannot confess to the girl of his dreams, Haruna Sairenji. One day when coming home and sulking in the bath-tub a mysterious, nude girl, appears out of nowhere. Her name is Lala and she comes from the planet Deviluke, where she is the heir to the throne. Her father wants her to return to her home planet so she can marry one of the husband candidates, but she decides that she wants to marry Rito in order to stay on Earth.”

[x] The show that plays on words and one I thought that it had already ended and as result was basically buried, like those old games you never play because you keep getting new ones. But To-Love-ru is somehow here again bringing more trouble, and boobs I take it or take them, whatever. I didn’t watch the 1st one. Won’t watch the 2nd one. To-Love-ru didn’t rub me off the right way the first time I watched the very first eps or maybe it’s because all the girls were too busy rubbing off to Yuuki instead. It’d truly make sense that way.

I can only guess that people really like this show because it still goes on. On a positive note, if I had to save only one and the choices were Rosario to vampire and To-Love-ru, I just might save the latter. Hint. I watched Black Cat.

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru

Trailer : here
Studio : SHAFT
Genres:
Comedy, Romance, Slice of Life
Eps : 12

[!] Yet the Town Keeps Going. THIS! This was rather surprising. Had no idea about the show, hardly looked at the description, and the moment I watched the trailer I knew Soredemo machi should be going places otherwise I just might be damned. The main character looks so much fun and wacky, and THOSE faces! Then again this is Shaft – and there’s Shinbou involved too? I’m sold though Shinbou doesn’t have to do with it.

This is the show that I’m getting a very good feeling that I’m going to like. Comedy shows are extremely to watch when they’re done right. The whole maid related plot is overused and kinda irrelevant (blasphemy say?) but for what I caught on the trailer I know that this should be awesome. I’m betting a few gold coins (not the ones for tips) that Yet the Town Keeps Going will be Hit. No, it must be or I might be damned for a second time (and possibly a third one) Simply keep it easy, fun, and don’t try too hard that it won’t be funny as intended. It will be highly appreciated if you do. Without a doubt will watch.

My sister can’t be this cute

Trailer : here
Studio: AIC
Genres: Comedy, Drama, Seinen

“The story follows the daily life of an ordinary high school boy named Kyōsuke Kōsaka. Kyōsuke’s younger sister Kirino is a pretty fashion model — but also a secret otaku of adult games. Kyōsuke is the only person to whom Kirino reveals her hidden obsession and other issues.”

[?] Maybe she isn’t that cute. Maybe it’s Maybelline. Ever thought of that, huh? I’m prone to reject or have a disdainful attitude towards shows that have words “sibling” and something that “implies that is therefore hot” because it’s a such clique in anime and two yeah, because it’s a clique in anime. Ah, it isn’t about that? Good. We already have a show about that. Right. My sister can’t be this cute (Help. how do we shorten this one?) is once again about these “Girls also watch anime” and they can be cute too at that! myth that everyone takes too damn seriously. It’s like it’s a crime to like anime in Japan and they’ll shoot you if they find out. Even though without any statistics I’m sure everyone has watched or watches anime at some point. Also the making the crappy and generic shows for the sake of money which just increases the quality out there is to blame as well. Simply have fun, people. Probably will check out. I want to see how original or lack therefore this show can be. It can surprisingly turn into a hit if the comedy is strong.

Future Diary OVA

Trailer: here
Studio: asread
Genres: Action, Mystery, Shounen, Supernatural, Psychological, Thriller

“High school 2nd year, Amano Yukiteru, is a boy who has problem making friends. He thinks of himself as a bystander and will always write down everything he sees in a cell phone diary. Tormented by solitude, Yukiteru began to imagine things like a friend called Deus X Makina who is apparently the Lord of Time & Space. Seeing Yukiteru’s miserable state, Deus gives him a new ability. His diary will now record events that will happen in the near future. Yukiteru is then forced to participate in a game which the winner will become Deus’s successor.”

[!] Like x10 exclamation marks. Mirai Nikki A.K.A The most expected OVA. A.K.A Orgasmic Diary. One of top 5 manga! It’s really not every day that a manga I follow gets animated. I’m simply ecstatic. I couldn’t be happier to see this day come except that I don’t want yet others to know of Future diary yet. Future diary is the most epic yandere show humans have ever created. This is really an epic manga. The action is solid, the story is awesome, the characters – wow (minus the main guy). The manga is on a whole different level than any other shows. Yuno is the epiphany of yanderism. She’s that crazy and she’s that awesome. Bad news? Asread? Shuffle’s director? I don’t think I’m feeling very reassured right about now. I thought Madhouse was gonna get it but they’re simply busy adapting stuff. If the TV version does not do justice to the manga I just might rage. Totally in the right. Hell, I’ll direct it myself! No problem. I got most of the stuff figured out anyway. Yeah, Deus Ex Machina should totally be voiced by Wakamoto or Jouji Nakata for one thing.

*Note : who the hell voted for Deus Ex Machina to be CG?

Arakawa under the Bridge X Bridge

Studios: SHAFT
Genres: Comedy, Romance

[?] Here a sequel I just might pick up but I haven’t finished the first one yet. I find myself unable to select the ep and press the enter button for some reason. Arakawa is an odd show to talk about so there isn’t much of a point writing this part because you’re probably already familiar with it. Liked it and most likely will pick it up in the future. Still, I have to get a bit defensive when I see shows getting a second season right away when there are others waiting years on a very very long list. I blame Hoshi.

Bakuman

Studio : J.C. Staff
Genres: comedy, romance, slice of life
Episodes : 25

“Moritaka Mashiro and Akito Takagi are pretty much foils of each other. Mashiro, an average 9th grade student but talented artist, and Takagi, an overall advanced 9th grader and aspiring writer. After great convincing, Takagi convinces Mashiro to join him in becoming the greatest mangakas Japan has ever seen. Takagi, with his gift of writing, hopes to become a successful mangaka, and Mashiro, with his gift of art, hopes to marry the girl of his dreams, Azuki Miho.”

[!] Who the hell do you think I am!? I’ve always wanted to say that and actually be  most relevant. As a Death Note fan I am more than obliged to read this Ohba and Obata genius combination next work. Also it’s not always that case that these genius in the manga in the industry are able to pull off another great manga so I’m thrilled to see what they created.

On the other hand, compared to others show this season I’m interested in this side of the fandom and see how things get done. What to expect of Bakuman? I suppose a lot of manga and industry info.  This could be highly informative if you’re at least a bit interested in that. I like drawing. I like manga, and I usually like listening to people to about their love for art. If I add the math correctly then it should only make sense that I like Bakuman. Of course, I’m not expecting to be anywhere near or similar to Death Note, we can see they’re nothing alike. Still I secretly hope that Bakuman makes a tiny obscure DN reference for the good times sake. I simply can see the brilliant ending when one of the guys exclaims Just as Keikaku by the end of the series and we learned everyone was being led by the nose. You can’t blame a fan for trying a bit there.

[……]

Sequels : Letter Bee Reverse, Otome Yookai Zakuro, Hakuōki Hekketsu-roku, Hetalia axis powers s4, Pokemon best wishes, Battle spirits brave

Other shows airing : Togainu no Chi, Fortune Arterial: Akai Yakusoku, Tantei Opera Milky Holmes, Super Robot Taisen OG: The Inspector, Karl to Fushigi na Tō, You are Umasou, Rita eh Machin, R+100F

OVAs : Queen’s Blade Utsukushiki Toshi-tachi, Kuttsukiboshi, Tamayura, ToHeart2 adnext, Yozukura Quartet ~Hoshi no Umi~, Koe de Oshigoto!, Megane na Kanojo, Koisento, Toaru Kagaku no Railgun.

:Thoughts:

* Some clear winners series will be Bakuman and The World only God Knows. Shows that will have fans talking about will be My sister can’t be this cute,  Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls and Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt. Mirai Nikki OVA will truly rock I just might explode in real life. Luckily, I keep a backup of myself hidden in a super secret place for these special occasions. Lastly, my personal pick for the Fall is Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru which I’ll know right away if it’s right or not once it airs. Any others?

That’s it for the Fall 2010. Some of the new anime I could tell right away I won’t be watching and others I’m rather wait to make decisions. A lot of manga adaptations this time around and even more sequels. Looking forward to them in a few more weeks.

[x] Not a personal favorite. Doubt I’ll watch pick it up
[?] Unsure about it. Might be wait and see.
[!] No questions asked. Must check out.* The first shows will air on October 1st and the latest by September.

8 thoughts on “The Fall 2010 Season Preview

  1. I think I’ll watch star driver and Bakuman for now. The world only god knows sounds interesting too.

  2. Gainax has only made 3 mecha shows in about 25 years of existence. You want to see another giant robot anime made by Gainax? Then wait another 10 years.

    And for Bakuman, don’t expect insight on how manga is made. JC Staff is animating this, so expect another mediocre high school romcom.

  3. For TWGOK firetrucks is something that the heroine decided ta read. So, she basically loves firetrucks.

    Not much ta spoiler there, is there? :P

  4. I have pretty high hopes for Star Driver. I don’t know why, but when I see SD, I thnk Eureka Seven. Thank goodness Bones is still doing their thing (I’m just going to forget that Heroman exists). If they were out, and with Gainax in their loli phase and Sunrise hiding out like Gonzo, I’d be totally zetsuboshita.

  5. The ones I’m looking forward the most are: Bakuman and The World God Only Knows. I’ve been waiting for an anime adaptation for a long time.
    TWGOK pretty much pokes and plays with the female archetypes of the anime/gal games industry. Also, Keima has some traits like Light or Lelouch and he is actually a really competent protagonist.

    My little sister can’t be this cute only interests me because of Yuuichi Nakamura. Then again, considering my usual busy schedule due to school, I’ll probably drop the show and I’d be watching: Fairy Tail, Shiki, Bakuman and TWGOK. …I seriously need to catch up with Rainbow.

Comments are closed.