Spring 2009 : Impressions and thoughts. Now this is more like it [Last Batch]

 basara

Type : Action, Historical
Studio : Production I.G
Episodes : 12

Sengoku Basara : The age of the Warring Countries, Japan was fragmented in semi-independent provinces, governed by feudal lords or daimyo, who confronted each other in an endless struggle for power. Ambitious daimyos from every corner of the Archipelago had shouted their battle cry. They were Takeda Shingen from Kai, Sanada Yukimura, Uesugi Kenshin from Echigo, Azai Nagamasa from Omi, Tokugawa Ieyasu from Mikawa, and many more… Those were days of unrest and chaos. As war spread throughout the country, the map of power underwent rapid and dramatic changes. In this never-ending conflict, one man finally seemed to be just one step from establishing total control over the country. He was the lord of Owari, the Sixth Heavenly Devil King. His name was Oda Nobunaga.But now, a young general clad in azure makes his unexpected appearance in this confused scenario, heading a huge army of cavalrymen from the Northern provinces. He is known as Date Masamune, the One-Eyed Dragon. And he is coming for Oda Nobunaga’s head, and for ultimate supremacy!

In less than 5 words : Dynasty warriors/Onimusha crossover. GAR
What it really needs : less engrish. More episodes
Keikaku doori : some

Oh man, this anime is a blast. I’ve always enjoyed samurai shows and this was the case as well for SB. One thing that I don’t dig is samurais speaking in English. It just seems.. WRONG. Now that we got that out of the way, we can talk about the show. Sengoku Basara is not under the action genre for nothing like other shows out there. I’m really pleased with the voice actors they picked for SB. Picking Wakamoto as Nobunaga was the smart move of the season. Heck, I wouldn’t be surprised that he’s the one that voices Nobunaga in the original Onimusha version. In addition, SB also features a great number of popular voice actors such as Takehito Koyasu (Neuro), Kazuya Nakai (Mugen), Toshiyuki Morikawa, Souichirou Hoshi (Maebara Keichi)

This one really delivers what it promises. If you haven’t done so already. Go and pick up Sengoku Basara now!

KKD Verdict : Must watch

07

Studio : STUDIO DEEN
Type : Action, Demons, Fantasy, Magic, Military
Episodes : 25

07-Ghost : Anime adaptation of the manga of the same name by Yuki Amemiya and Yukino Ichihara. Barsburg Empire’s Military Academy has always been known for training the elite with potential to become superb soldiers who won’t bring shame to the name of the empire. The students of the special program freely utilize an ability called “zaiphon” to fight… Everyone’s capabilities are different, and in many cases, reflect their nature. However, not everything is what it seems, and nothing will be the same for Teito Klein after passing the last exam…

In less than 5 words : All hail britannia! (maybe?)
What it really needs : ppl not sharing beds.
Keikaku doori : possible

07-Ghost looks like one of the potential shows of the season. While it didn’t completely scream epic, mind you. I see that this show might have potential if done right. Lately, military anime themes are doing it for me. The misuse of power represented by an authoritarian monarchy always gets my attention and 07-Ghost was no different. Another thing that I liked the background music in the first episode whenever something crucial happened. It’s a bit sad but I’ve noticed the lack of quality background music in many shows lately. Although we didn’t get to see much about the story, I liked what I saw that is,  minus a couple of things.  For example, the not-so-subtle shounen-ai vibes. Yes, sharing a bed. Not cool. Another thing that I’m worried about was that there seems to be lack of female characters in the story. Worry? In this anime, yes, you should.

I’m just throwing this out there. I know that this isn’t just me but the main guy reminded me a lot of Lelouch in appearance and in personality to Susaku. I’m probably thinking too much ahead but I’m really hoping that as the story goes he slowly starts to walk the anti-hero path. I know, I know. I just saw the first ep and I’m already derailing this anime.

Verdict: Will watch and I’m hoping it gets better.

 

ph2

Meido assassin

Studio : Bee Train, Nitro+  (yes Nitro+), GENCO
Type :  unknown
Episodes : 26

Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~ A spate of mafia assassinations occurs in America, the work of the mysterious organization named Inferno. “Phantom” is their most strongest and capable assassin, however a lone tourist witnesses Phantom’s latest act of murder. He unwittingly exposes the top assassin’s true identity, a young girl named Ein. Witnesses are usually killed, but the man is captured and taken to be brainwashed into “Zwei”, Inferno’s newest assassin, with no memory of who he is. From this point on, Zwei is drawn into a world of conspiracy, deceit and violence.

In less than 5 words : gunslinger girl/black lagoon
What it really needs : villains
Keikaku doori : maybe some

Phantom is dark-theme type of show where the main character got his memory erased and he’s abducted by a powerful assassin organization and he’s transformed into their top assassin. Once again, the foreign guy just made the wrong choice and went somewhere he shouldn’t.  Oh man, these anime makes me think that the world can be one hell of a scary place for tourists. 

What I’m hoping is that Phantom turns into some sort of Black Lagoon. What I’m hoping this doesn’t turn into is into an overly dramatic show where rarely anything happens. At any rate, I’m giving it a shot.

Verdict: Will watch

natsu-no-arashi

Studio : SHAFT
Type : Comedy, Fantasy, Romance
Episodes : 13

In less than 5 words : 80’s flashback
What it really needs : be more appealing
Keikaku doori : unknown

Natsu no Arashi! – Summer Storm. In an old town coffee shop, a boy met an older high school girl. From there, everything was… An unforgettable summer began.

Natsu no Arashi! was like taking a HUGE step back into the 80’s. So I figured that the original manga must be like really really old. Turns out that it isn’t, as it as published in 2006 according to MAL’s database. In my opinion,  Summer storm is that kind of anime that you only watched as a kid because there was nothing else on TV. I’m just going to come out and say it. The character designs were a big turn off. Look here. I’m not asking them to look moe or some crap like that but man, they were so unappealing. I haven’t been this turned off since I saw the horrible Churuya-san character designs. Anyhow, shallowness aside, Summer Storm wasn’t that horrible. That story itself was simple and weak. The show is really weird if you ask me. It’s not terrible per se but this is the type of show that most people skip due to the animation and overall weirdness of the show.

The comedic value wasn’t so great either. More than half the time I didn’t find myself laughing. What I did find myself was wondering what I was exactly I was looking at. Why is this under romance? you serious? Romance in this show? That’s possibly the last thing that this show needs. I might give it few more goes before I decide what to do with it.

Verdit : very high chance that I might be sitting this one out.

higashi-no-eden

Studio : Production I.G.
Type :  Action, Comedy, Mystery, Drama, Romance, Sci-Fi
Episodes : 11

Higashi no Eden – November 22, 2010. Monday. Ten missiles hit the territory of Japan. However, this unprecedented terrorist act, later to be known as “Careless Monday” apparently did not cause any victims, and was soon forgotten by almost everyone. Then, 3 months later… Saki Morimi is a young woman currently in the United States of America on her graduation trip. But just when she is in front of the White House, Washington DC, she gets into trouble, and only the unexpected intervention of one of her fellow countrymen saves her day. However, this man, who introduces himself as Akira Takizawa, is a complete mystery. First of all, he appears to have lost his memory. Secondly, he is stark naked, except for the gun he holds in one hand, and the mobile phone he’s grabbing with the other hand. A phone that is charged with 8,200,000,000 yen in digital cash. Who is Akira Takizawa? What are the secrets behind his extraordinary mobile phone? What got lost with his vanished memory?

In less than 5 words : Honey and Clover in America
What it really needs : —–
Keikaku doori : unknown

Yes, Higashi no Eden must be the show that I have the highest expectations for. This show just looks right to me.  Real English. OMG. They finally wise up and hired people that actually sound like they speak English. And no, no, I’m not talking about the stereotypical ones that you see in most anime. Who could forget the omgsodammawful BLACK LAGOON engrish that was almost offensive? I mean the show was great but the English was plain awful. Oh it was bad. Really bad.

Naked people bring everyone together since the beginning of time indeed. Higashi Eden promising premise is what will draw you to this anime. Guy and girl meeting under weird circumstances in a foreign country. One of them think that he’s a terrorist. The other one is kind weird. You got my attention. Protesting at the white house also brings everyone together. For example, throwing coins at the white house foundation for who knows what reason or throwing shoes. Forget the last part, she obviously wasn’t throwing shoes since Bush isn’t the president now. Yeah, I know that everyone isn’t thrilled with Obamana but hey at least we got rid of the terrible Bush administration. The world should be grateful that we didn’t need to call Celestial Being to get him out of there. On another different note, U.S police are so uptight, man. Tazing locals and harassing tourists. That’s the reason why I wouldn’t move a single muscle if the police were to question me. Don’t taze me, bro. Yes, I’ve seen too many movies as a kid.

To end my rambling, Akira looks a lot like Morita. In addition, Saki looks a bit like Hagumi. If you have no idea what I’m talking about then you haven’t watched Honey and Clover.  Take a look at the  Higashi of the East ED and the Honey and Clover OP (check out the Op 2 if you want more). You’ll be shocked if you haven’t watched Honey and Clover before.

Verdict: MUST WATCH

Well, that’s it. I’m done rewriting my impression for the spring shows. Maybe I’ll write something interesting about any of those shows in the future. Wait, you mean to tell me that I’m leaving out a crucial show? Nah, I’m sure I covered most of them.  Right. Right?

~ I’m off

